Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

There are few parents in our society who do not restrict their children to do new things and adhere to every request made by them. I truly believe that a good parent is the one who teaches their children to understand the difference between their wants and their needs. In this essay, we will discuss the parents who are very lenient towards their kids. I think it is the duty of a father or a mother to satisfy the needs of their kids but he/she should always be strict with them, when their demand is unnecessary. Moreover, A small kid does not have the understanding of what is good and bad for them, it is the responsibility of a parent to make their kid realize his/her mistake. For instance, my neighbours are proud parents of a girl. They use to fulfil every wish of their daughter when she was a kid. But, now that she is an adult, that girl cannot tolerate hearing the word no from anyone and now they feel she is very stubborn and strong-headed, whereas it is their mistake that they never grounded her when she was a child. The consequences of such an adult who is raised in an environment where he/she has never heard ‘NO’ from their parent can be very grave at times, as they may not be able to tolerate the cruelty of the world sometimes. Furthermore, if someone does not listen to them or if they are turned down for their dream job by a company, this person who is not habitual to hear a ‘NO’ from anyone can feel frustrated with oneself and may even fall into depression. For instance, a daughter of a famous athlete in India committed suicide just because she lost a final match in a national tournament. The experts commented on this issue and discussed that if a kid who is raised in too much appreciation and has never faced criticism or strictness in their childhood, the research says that they are more likely to take the aforesaid step due to non-acceptance from the world. In conclusion, a parent has to fulfil the demands of their kids but they have to play the role of a good cop as well as a bad cop at times, to teach a lesson to their children and create a healthy environment for them.