Being a celebrity- such as a famous film star or sports personality- brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think that being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

There is no doubt that if someone is a public figure, this means their life can fluctuate significantly as this brings benefits. Meanwhile, there are several downsides. In my opinion, despite this, I believe the benefits outweigh the negatives. To begin with, the first disadvantage of being a celebrity is that they cannot have private life like anyone. This is because if they go anywhere public, supermarket, for instance, they might find themselves surrounded by their fans and paparazzi, and they publish their stories in the news and the internet instantly. As a result, they prefer to go to distant places to enjoy a sense of privacy. Secondly, some celebrities may have a hectic personal life. This is based on the fact that they face tough competition from their rivals in their line of work. Therefore, they work day and night, and, this might cause a negative effect on their loved ones. Having said that, the first perk of being a famous personality is that they can gain huge profits in a short time. The reason for this is that their wide fan base is willing to pay for tickets to watch them in football matches, for instance or movie theatres. Thus, they can achieve a luxurious life. What is more, celebrities can easily get employed in other fields. This is owing to the fact that they gained society’s trust and respect. For example, many football players are currently working in media as commentators after their retirement. With that in mind, they enjoy job security and secure the needs of their families for a long time. In conclusion, although there are several problems that being a celebrity – brings predominately less privacy and a hectic life – the benefits it brings to them such as achieving high living standards and job security are impossible to ignore.