The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

Today, smoking is threatening people's health because of the poisonous substance in tobacco. However, there are a large number of people still smoke every day. The possible reasons for this phenomenon relate to the chemical and social aspects, and the government and some organisations could help to prevent those people from smoking. The primary reason is that tobacco contains nicotine, which can make smokers be addicted to it. It is common to see that giving up smoking is really difficult for most people because of addiction. For instance, if people who are used to smoke try to quit smoking, they are likely to become abnormal, such as distraction and short-tempered, and they cannot stick with it for a long period of time, causing trouble with their friends and themselves. Therefore, they are prone to smoke again. Another reason is that some people have heavy work stress, and smoking can make them relax to some extent. For example, comparing with other forms of entertainment, smoking is cheap and convenient. And people have many burdens on working and living costs in cities. As a result, although most people know smoking is detrimental to their physical condition, such as lung disease, they still choose to smoke. Some measures can be taken to stop those people from smoking. The government can improve the tax on tobacco, which is proved to be useful in lots of countries. For example, if the price of tobacco rises, some people may be reluctant to smoke since they prefer to save money to buy some products rather than spending the same money smoking. Moreover, some organisations aim to help people to quit smoking. For instance, they organise more outdoor activities or meetings to offer alternatives for smokers, which can alleviate the side effect caused by stopping smoking. In conclusion, the reasons for smoking are linked to addiction and living burden. And the government and organisations can help them to reduce smoking by raising the price and offering alternatives.