Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

Advertisement has immense power of influence. It arouses an irresistible desire for irrelevant goods. I completely agree with this idea. In today's consumer society advertisement has created the need for unnecessary products. Women these days cannot imagine a day without cosmetic products. Sales of these cosmetics are increasing ceaselessly because TV commercials represent these beauty products in a way that every one of them seems extremely important. For example, some people trust TV commercials so blindly that they end up buying those products without questioning themselves; Do they need it? Demand for beauty products has skyrocketed because of the endless ads on TV. However, in the past people were living with their natural appearances. This proves that there is no need for these popular but irrelevant goods in society. Some people like to follow the latest trend and advertisement works as a puller for them. Such people buy the latest and updated stuff after watching ads on social media. Take smartphones, for example, teenagers are crazy about buying the latest smartphones. Smartphones are one example out of many others and people do not pay much attention that they are buying irrelevant stuff. To conclude, sales of popular stuff have skyrocketed because of advertisements and there is no need for them in society.