Some people that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is undeniable fact that many of our problems are because of the imbalance in our ecosystem. This imbalance is mainly because of many species of animals and plants got vanished and many are on the verge of getting extinct. At the same time, there are folks who think that there are other bigger environmental issues as compare to this aforesaid problem. In this essay, I will be discussing both aspects followed by my own opinion. Firstly, every creature be it an insect, animal, bird or human being has its place in the whole ecosystem and the presence of one is directly or indirectly dependant on the presence of another. For instance, food chain at the macro level may be referred to, if trees are cut down at large scale, the available food for herbivore animals will be lesser, consequently deers, elephants will start decreasing in numbers and further carnivore animals will get badly affected. Secondly change in the pattern of wildlife will give birth to many environmental issues such as extreme weather conditions, heavy and very few rains, floods, droughts, etc. these changes will force the change in lifestyles of communities. In addition to the above-discussed issues, there are other problems also which need immediate attention like, global warming, the explosion in human population, increase in pollution, alarming decreasing levels of drinking water, terrorism, hunting and killing animals for fun or for making whopping money by selling of their skin, bones, teeth, etc. All these problems are because of catastrophic human activities. Because of these unthoughtful actions, ecosystem gets disturbed resulting in many other problems. To sum up, it is very clear from the above discussion that all the problems are not independent of each other but they are directly or indirectly dependent on each other. To stop this, there is a need to lay down well planned and executed, stringent law system along with the heavy punishments, monetary as well non-monetary. Every person, community should be educated enough that they also co-operate to save our planet.