Some people believe that electronic calculators should not be allowed in school until after the pupils have mastered mental arithmetic. Others believe that calculators save pupils time, especially with complicated calculations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Mathematics is a crucial school subject for a child's future. While it is thought by some that the use of calculation devices should be allowed only after students have developed mental arithmetic, there are others who believe that they ought to be used in order to save time. In my opinion, calculators should be utilised considering the current technological trends. Opponents of the use of calculators argue that for students ' academic achievement, it is advisable that they develop the ability to calculate in their heads. The acquisition of this skill enables a person to better process information as well as to improve memory, which promotes success in today's information-based society. This is because it gives children a foundation on which they further develop mathematic abilities. Generally, a child with high academic attainment can effortlessly calculate numbers in their heads. Proponents of calculators in the classroom, on the other hand, think that time could be better used for gaining new knowledge about mathematic principles and learning techniques rather than for calculations. By developing deeper understandings of important concepts in the subject, students can expect greater learning outcomes. In learning about algebra, for instance, it is impossible to solve an equation without the knowledge regarding proper approaches even if a student obtains a sufficient level of mental arithmetic skills. Finally, I support the idea of using calculators because the ability of mental arithmetic has become irrelevant nowadays. Due to technological advances, most individuals in society now have access to devices that are able to perform complex calculations. Therefore, the need for mental arithmetic has significantly reduced and the skills required in humans have shifted to higher-order thinking, such as logical thinking and analytical thinking. For example, most employers look for candidates with a higher level of problem-solving skills that have no association with the ability to calculate. In conclusion, I feel that the use of calculation devices ought to be accepted for students to develop higher-order thinking that computers cannot provide. It is crucial that education systems reflect the needs of society.