Some people think that individuals are becoming more dependent on each other in modern society, while others believe that individuals are becoming more independent of each other. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some hold the view that recent developments allow people to rely on others more compared to the past. Other states that the public has become more independent. This essay addresses both points of view and the reason why I believe that individuals have come to depend on others these days. On the one hand, some people opine that the population become self-reliant because modernisation fosters people to be isolated. Industrialisation tranfered the majority of workers from blue colour labours to white colour workforces and increased jobs in cities resulted in breaking regional communities' bonds and affection. For example, in Japan, nearly almost every young adult living in the countrysides decide to leave their hometowns after graduating high school or university since jobs are limited. As a result, bonds with their relatives and communities are not strong as they used to be. Nevertheless, I consider people become dependent increasingly because technological progress enabled the public to connect with others substantially. With the prevalence of smartphones and social media, they are able to communicate with others anytime at any place. The increase in the frequency of communication drives adults' actions. For example, one of my flatmates spends her pastime calling her friend because she does not want to feel lonely by being alone. Whenever she has time, she talks with her friends over the phone to discuss any topics from subtle things, such as today's lunch, to dissertation in the kitchen. Thus, the invention of phones and social media made the public rely on each other mentally. In conclusion, although some argue that population become independent by modernisation, I believe they become dependent inextricably because of the advance in technology.