In past when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country, nowadays they have more opportunity to study abroad. Do the advantages of this development outweigh disadvantages?

In this era of modernization, obtaining a degree from a foreign university is considered as a credit in many countries. In the olden days, students chose to conduct their higher education in their own nation however, nowadays, they also have an option to study in international colleges. In my opinion, there are several negative attributes to this trend as, compared to the advantages of the same. To begin with, a foreign credential does not come in cheap, they are rather expensive indeed. Many of such programs offered there are costly and are difficult to get into. For instance, in Canada, for an international student, the tuition fee is three times more than that of a local scholar. Hence, even though, the degree holds value, it is highly expensive and thus, a financial burden on the pupil and his/her family. Furthermore, when they study abroad, they are alone, young and away from their friends and family. In many places, a part-time job is a necessity to cover the rent and other expenses. As a result, many students face difficulty in managing their work and study together. For example, a recent survey conducted by Cambridge University, about international students found that many of them are suffering from loneliness, depression and suicidal tendencies. Hence, it is clearly visible that the demerits of this outweigh the merits on many levels. To summarize, although the chances for studying in foreign universities have increased these days, it has several adverse effects. This has a negative impact on a student's life, both financially as well as mentally. Hence, I believe that, there are more disadvantages than advantages to this phenomenon.