There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that in order to avoid the stress and pressure of succeeding at school we should take out non-core subjects. I totally disagree with this opinion and I believe that such a decision would do a lot of harm to the students and it would not improve their performance in any subject. The way I see things is that Non-academic disciplines should be included in educational programs. Thanks to them students distract themselves, they get enough rest from pressure and a high level of concentration which they ought to have during academic classes. For instance: in one of the public schools in the USA, well-conducted research has shown that after open-door PE classes students' performance in academic lessons has increased. It proves that The best way to recharge your batteries is to change the activity you are doing. Moreover, I’m positive that non-academic lessons prepare young pupils for taking the first step into adult life. Firstly, School teaches a person lifelong lessons which he or she uses during their whole life. Diverse classes such as cookery, PE, biology fundamentals of safety and vital activities gift a student with priceless experience on how to cope with any situation your future would bring you. Secondly, Without extensive knowledge, you will not be a true specialist in a narrowly focused field. Finally, Additional lessons broaden the horizons of children which also helps them to do their best in their major classes. I want to give an example from my own experience. My major while studing was Maths. During my final state exam, l got to solve math problems connected with Chemistry and Physics. If I had not had these lessons, I wouldn’t have been able to do my best on that crucial exam. To sum it up, I believe that non-academic subjects are vital for your self-development and they help you indeed to perform better and be successful in all that you are passionate about. Knowledge is never superfluous.