Development in technology has brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is an irrefutable fact that advancements in technology have taken a huge toll on the environment. While many believe that leading a simple lifestyle can resolve this crisis, others are of the opinion that technology itself is the way out of this predicament. Although both the notions have their own merits and demerits, this essay will highlight why, it is the former one that holds true. As humans, we need to curb our requirements for possessions that are deemed unnecessary. This will, in turn, lead to less production of goods and consequently less wastage leaked into the environment. This can be a stepping-stone to mitigate pollution levels globally. Furthermore, to reduce carbon emissions into the atmosphere, people can utilise public transport better and give up on their ever-increasing whims of owning fancy personal vehicles. Thus, society can shrug off their materialistic needs by minimizing consumption of goods that are not required, as well as, come together to use common means of transport in a better manner. This can go a long way in addressing the damage caused to the environment. On the other hand, the usage of technology can be a double-edged sword. For instance, technological advancements have led to the adoption of battery-run cars that have in a way, minimized the usage of non-renewable fuel sources like petrol and diesel. However, the production of these batteries, emit an exorbitant amount of waste into the atmosphere. Therefore, although technology is minimizing the abuse of precious natural resources, the means of attaining that goal, are themselves offsetting the gains achieved. To conclude, both modern advancements in engineering and choosing a life, that focuses on abstinence, can contribute to saving our mother earth. However, in my opinion, it is the latter one that can turn out to be more productive in the long run as technology advancements, come with their own set of side effects.