In many countries, students take a year off after finishing school. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The importance of taking a year off after completing school which was always debatable has now become more controversial with many people claiming that it is beneficial while others reject this notion. The substantial influence of this trend has sparked controversy over its potential impact in recent years. This essay will elaborate on both the advantages and disadvantages of this trend and thus will lead to a logical conclusion. There are myriad benefits but the most preponderant one stems from the fact that it allows the students to discover their career interests. They gain exposure to the outside world and will be able to explore the job they love. Another pivotal benefit is that they learn teamwork, cooperation and discipline. They learn about cultures, and languages and understand global issues. Moreover, it reduces the burden of their higher studies as they gather funds for higher studies. However, there are some pitfalls that negate these arguments but the most alarming one is that they may find it difficult to adapt after such a long gap as students lose the momentum of their studies. Besides, children may get distracted which can be disastrous for their career. They may fall into bad company. In addition, it may ruin their bright future if the gap is not used productively. Hence, it is apparent why many are against this trend. To recapitulate, according to the arguments aforementioned above, one can reach the conclusion that the advantages of taking a year off are instrumental indeed. Nevertheless, its potential drawbacks should not be overlooked either.