Prevention is better than cure. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures. To what extent do you agree?

Proper treatment of diseases can be an expensive process; therefore, taking precautions before disease progression seems like the cheaper alternative. While I admit that prevention is better than cure, I agree that it is not always possible to ward off some diseases without scientific researches. Firstly, to begin with, there are lots of illnesses on the earth which can be prevented with the help of proper hygienic practices. For example, Dengue is a deadly disease that affects the blood cells of the human body. However, it can be avoided through careful management of waste and the installation of mosquito meshes in living areas. If people do not follow the precautionary methods, they are more likely to be infected by that disease. Therefore, it is vital for us to take precautions in order to stay safe from some diseases. Secondly, the treatment processes for some specific diseases such as cancer or diabetes are so pricey, due to which the underprivileged people cannot afford the medication. In addition, isolation strategies to prevent the widespread infection of the virus cost an arm and a leg for the government. At the same time, it is cheaper when investing in research into annihilating cancer risk factors or manufacturing vaccines for the virus. For example, according to a survey every year a large amount of money is by governments on treating chronic illness. However, there is enough evidence that it is difficult to combat a few infections even after being extremely careful. In such cases, there is hardly any other alternative except working on a new medicine. For instance, a huge population across the world got affected by the novel coronavirus. Despite the fact that most people use masks and sanitisers, the virus has managed to infect many of them. In such cases, we need to research more on the causative agent of that disease and come with the new medicine. To conclude, though there are exceptional factors, I think it is better to be more aware of one’s own health than spending money on treating diseases.