The best way to solve world’s environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that environmental problems are posing a serious threat to our planet at present. Some people suggest that the most optimal way to solve these issues is raising the cost of gasoline. In my opinion, this measure is ineffective, and there are much better ways to address environmental issues. On the one hand, two main reasons why making fuel more expensive simply will not work. The first reason is that when the price of fuel increases significantly, it cannot have any effect on fuel consumption. This is because people still need to buy and drive their own vehicles, and factories still increase their production and release more and more pollutants into the atmosphere in daily life despite the fluctuation in the petrol price. Another apparent reason is that fuel consumption is one of the many activities that cause pollution. In fact, the root cause of most serious environmental issues is the energy-hunger lifestyle. For example, the accelerated depletion of natural resources used to produce electricity and power machines can be attributed to the insatiable thirst for humankind's energy. This, coupled with deforestation, factories’ discharge of effluents, the use of plastic, or the massive amount of domestic waste, can result in environmental pollution. Increasing the price of petrol is unlikely to have any impact on these factors, and therefore the view that higher costs of fuel cannot be considered the best way to solve global environmental problems. However, there are much better solutions to environmental problems. Firstly, the key to solving the world’s environmental problems is to find alternative sources of energy. This could be done by exploiting solar, wind, and tidal power, all of which are unlimited and clean sources of energy that are largely underdeveloped. Secondly, stricter punishments must be administered to individuals and companies that harm the environment. For instance, prison sentences may be given to people participating in illegal logging, and factories must be fined for releasing excessive toxic gases into the atmosphere. Finally, it is necessary for governments around the world to launch an international campaign about the dangers and serious repercussions of detrimental impacts that ordinary people have on the air quality or water resources. Once they are conscious of this negative impact, they would be galvanized into action and actively protect the environment. In conclusion, I believe that the increase in fuel cost is futile in alleviating problems caused by the environment, and therefore, other measures to mitigate these problems should be considered.