Should students be allowed to choose which classes they take, or should they be required to take the same classes as everyone else? What are the advantages and disadvantages of each approach to education? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Education is a very important factor to consider for society. On one hand, some argue that students should be given an option to choose their classes, while others state that all youngsters should have the same subjects. I'll explore both of these ideas in this essay. Firstly, in many cases, kids are precocious and they know exactly what career they want to pursue. An example is, people who want to be doctors can concentrate on science and biology, and ignore computer science. Furthermore, in case they are not interested in learning multiple languages, they can disregard second and third language subjects. The counterargument for this is, if they keep changing their mind about their field of study, they will end up failing. The structured study gives students the necessary discipline to succeed. Secondly, people believe that children do not need choice, since the curriculum has been framed by elders with experience. For instance, for computer engineering, the syllabus is framed by leading engineers who know exactly what the computer industry needs. Youngsters do not have this experience obviously. In addition to this, the youngsters may miss out on some important subjects, such as geography. Even though everyone needs to be aware of basic geography, some may ignore it if given the choice. But this opinion could be invalidated, by considering the fact that we are forcing them, instead of letting them learn what they want to learn. In conclusion, there are two schools of thought with respect to letting students choose their classes. Encouraging vocation based options and allowing the youth to avoid unnecessary classes are the main arguments for choice in school, while inexperience and the need for everyone to learn the basics are cited as reasons against giving choices. Despite the demerits, we should consider a hybrid approach to education, so as to give everyone the best education possible.