In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Previously, men and women would rather get a university degree in the county that they actually lived in. These days, there are opportunities to study abroad, and many choose to do it. The main benefits of this are better quality of education and the possibility to get an internationally recognized diploma; however, the key drawbacks are living far away from family and friends and the cost of living and education in different places. It is known that developed countries have a high quality of post-secondary education, and many students from developing countries prefer them in order to get the best learning experience available. Sometimes their own countries do not even have anything to offer in their choice of specialization. Another advantage is that having a degree from a globally renowned academic institution expands career opportunities without the need to verify credentials, study and take exams again, which might take years, to prove qualifications. For example, many graduates from Eastern Europe with professions like doctors, teachers, accountants, architects, etc. must do it if they want to work in a speciality in the UK, US and Canada. Thus, if there is a chance, it is better to get an education in an already verified university or college. Nevertheless, for some students, it might be extremely difficult to live far away from loved ones, which might trigger dissatisfaction and a depressive mood. As a result, they experience difficulties while adapting to new unusual conditions, and there is a high risk of them dropping out. Moreover, to live and study abroad often requires serious financial investments. For example, in the UK the cost of education for foreign students is much bigger than for locals. This is not always supported by funding or grants: most of the students pay from their own or family pockets or take loans. That is not to mention the cost of living, rent, and medical expenses, which are also a big part of the budget. To conclude, studying away from home has its positives and negatives. The positives include a better level of education and an internationally verified degree, however, the negatives are that it is costly and living alone in unknown places might not be easy for foreign candidates.