In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. Write at least 250 words.

Recent years have witnessed tremendous developments in agricultural science yet every day numerous unfortunate people all over the world continue to suffer and even die from hunger. In my opinion, this is because such innovations rarely impact the developing world and the best solution for it is to direct humanitarian funding towards these advances. The primary cause of more advanced agricultural methods not reaching people who need it the most is that the developing world has trouble implementing these methods. There are a number of reasons for this ranging from limited financial resources to poor existing infrastructure to political instability, depending on the country in question. One of many great examples of this is often cited in many African nations, where malnourishment has been historically the highest. Countries like the Congo has seen revolution after revolution over the last several decades, which has effectively destabilised the entire country. The universities, where students could learn about new changes in agriculture, are frequently shut down or demolished. The youths who would become agricultural scientists, end up drawn into the conflict as soldiers or victims. Long-term economic neglect means that the government has a limited ability to subsidise farming. These problems are present to varying degrees in countries around the world and offer one possible explanation for the continued prevalence of hunger. I would contend that the solution, which is the most effective, is directing more humanitarian funds previously focused on food aid towards education and agricultural infrastructure. Food aid is a notoriously poor solution that merely has an immediate effect and warlords often exploit it to support the continuous mistreatment of their citizenry. However, there would be better long-term views if international organisations and governors redirected that money into helping build better farms, provide more modern equipment and sending qualified professionals to train farmers in need. There is a TedTalk by a young man in Kenya who built his windmill out of old bicycle parts and by reading a book in the local library. His achievement was large enough to power his own house and he was seeking financing for a larger one in order to power irrigation channels for the entire village. If more people with the same determination like this can be found or trained, then this will have an impact that might last for decades and is relatively impervious to the factors preventing agricultural improvement from taking root in the developing countries. In conclusion, the developing world has faced myriad catalysts that can hinder their ability to take advantage of newer farming models and we should allocate more funding to help these countries learn about the novelty of these methods. This is likely to be an important issue in the world as the gap between the rich and poor, developed and undeveloped widens while agricultural progress continues its indifferent march forward.