Universities should allocate the same amount of money to their sport activities as they allocate to their libraries. Do you agree or disagree?

In society, there is a rising consciousness about physical health and fitness. In accordance with this tendency, some people believe that university funds should be invested equally in sports and academic activities. I partly agree with this idea, and my reasons will be explained in the present essay. First of all, the investment needed to boost physical and intellectual education is different. Supporting the PE department usually entails more large one-time investments, like the costly celebration of a sports event, while the needs of libraries are oftentimes regular and in relatively small sums. Other than the inherent diversity in the balance sheet, money isn’t the only measurement of how much attention a university pays to different aspects of student development. Along with financial support, the executive department should also design an equally scientific curriculum and provide the same administrative support for the staff and students of both fields. However, the message behind this idea is not to be dismissed. Material support should be fairly distributed among the fostering of academic qualities and physical strengths. The first reason is historical: in the past, the aim of tertiary education has been disproportionally directed at intellectual development such as the abilities to reason, argue and calculate, downplaying the importance of a strong and healthy body. Secondly, the rise of disciplines related to health, such as nutrition and sports science, is encouraging people to be more physically active. In conclusion, it should be noted that a well-rounded education doesn’t equal identical financial resources in sports activities and libraries, but it does call for a balanced system of the universities that aims to make advances in physical education and academic formation with the same level of seriousness and determination.