The majority of news being reported is bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crime. Why do you think that is? Do you think the news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

In the 21st century, our planet is facing enormous problems and difficulties. As a result, the majority of news reported is negative ones such as a conflict between various countries, famine, natural calamities and spread of deadly diseases, especially coronavirus pandemic in recent times. However, I opine that there should be a striking balance between good and bad news as people will develop a sense of positivity towards life when they are encountered with the former. Generally, contents provided by various news outlets are accurate and based on actual facts. One of the consequences of globalization is that there are a greater number of people on this planet and this resulted in a higher crime rate, pollution, accidents and scarcity of natural resources. Therefore, the responsibility of the media is to report such issues occurring around the world and create awareness among the public. For instance, in 2019, flooding caused by torrential monsoon rain in Kerala was heavily covered by several media organizations across India and this played a pivotal role in helping people to relocate to safe places and assisting legislative bodies to provide basic needs such as food and shelter to the people. Hence, it is necessary to inform the public through the news about dangerous situations so that individuals might take adequate measures. However, good news can mitigate the psychological toll created by negative news. For example, researchers at the University of Southampton in the United Kingdom was found that bad news can cause anxiety and bad mood; however, uplifting news motivated readers to create a positive impact. Additionally, issues such as climate change and global warming are constantly reported apart from various governments and leaders across the globe are pulling together to fight for the cause and this will bring hope for the future. In conclusion, there are various issues happening in the world and this must be reported so that people should be aware of it; however, in my view, there should be a balance between both positive and negative news.