Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Nowadays the population in metropolises has increased, and although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, governments can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. As for crowded cities, several related issues can be anticipated. The main problem is traffic jams. To elaborate, increasing the population leads to increasing use of own cars, so the traffic will be expanded. In addition, due to more use of cars air pollution will be increased. Another potential problem is the lack of public facilities for this congestion. Therefore, public places such as hospitals and schools are encountered with overloaded populations that there are not enough spaces and facilities to manage crowd. The same problem will be generated in public transportation. Nevertheless, there are potential ways to solve these problems, or at least to reduce the effect. First, governments should plan to improve the infrastructure of streets and roads by widening them, moreover, new highways should be constructed to reduce the traffic jam. In addition, by using the new vertical gardening techniques which can be performed in each structure, new plants are grown to mitigate air pollution. Another possible solution is investing and establishing more public facilities. Meanwhile, extra schools and hospitals should be implemented to manage the demands, also the accessibility of local transportation should be easier for instance by adding new bus stations or decreasing waiting time in the stations. Hence, due to the comfort of local transportation, individuals prefer to use them. So, by improving the conditions of local transportation not only the congestion will be decreased, but also the traffic jams will be reduced. In conclusion, although metropolises’ overpopulation is a serious issue there are steps that governments can take to reduce its negative results, such as developing the urban infrastructure including streets and public transportation, and also creating new green space.