Machine translation (MT) is slower and less accurate than human translation and there is no immediate or predictable likelihood of machines taking over this role from humans. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Compared with human translation Machine translation is time-consuming and less precise. There is no substitute or possibility for taking this role from humans shortly. I firmly agree with this perspective and will present my view in this essay. To begin with, a potential reason for human translation is more efficient in terms of accuracy is that there is a wide variety of slang and words in different languages, cultures, and ethnic which makes it hard as Machine translation has no access to this data, it cannot have a precise translation. It needs huge people around the world to collect data and put them into the Machine translation so it does not make sense. Additionally, one word can have a different meaning in the lecture of each country. The identity of the correct meaning sometimes is impossible. For example, there is a word in Persian that has three meanings namely milk, lion, and faucet, it is a simple example to explain this issue, while humans can easily judge the sentence and ask a question from native if they are not sure of the exact meaning of the word. Another perceived reason is the speed since some errors and misunderstandings, tough grammar and complex sentences cause much time spent on the translation. Indeed, there is a limitation to translation through the Machin, for example, Google Translate for each time allows 250 words for translation. This issue causes it to be slower than humans. Furthermore, complex grammar and sentences should not be underestimated because they take a lot of time to understand, whereas human knowledge can remedy these problems. Despite all the issues that have been said, it seems that Machine translation could not tackle the problems as soon as possible, while the translator is required to have a level of creativity and fluency to translate the context. As long as the Machine translation cannot be able to access these abilities, they cannot take the role. In conclusion, Machine translation encounters problems like a lack of data, complex grammar, and creativity so is less efficient than human translation. It is considered that this issue not be solved soon.