Today food travels thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, an increasing amount of food people buy is from farms thousands of miles away. Some argues that it is beneficial for the society while others consider it harmful. Indeed, the long journey of food resulted from many reasons and has brought both merits as well as demerits. It is difficult to determine which one is stronger. The distant food transportation can be attributed to globalization and technology progress. In the modern world, transactions between countries or even continents are taking place more regularly, including food and drinks. People are willing to purchase food from abroad and the international transportation system enabled the delivery of food, maintaining it fresh at the same time. Therefore, people are able to enjoy food travelled thousands of miles with high freshness. On one hand, the travel of food is advantageous for both consumers and producers. With overseas food shipped to domestic shops, people can have their diet enriched without going abroad. The abundant menu also expand the nutrients consumers obtained through their food. For producers, they can specialize in what they are skilled in instead of producing all types of food. Taking advantage of economics of scales, products with lower costs and higher quality is made, adding the profit producers receive. Moreover, global transactions prevent wars and conflicts as well. If countries are all producing and exporting what they are good at while importing other food, they become mutually dependent. On the other hand, the delivery of food is leading to pollution and driving up the food price. No matter what type of transportation method people use, there will be pollutants emitted to the air or the sea, worsening the environment. Besides, retaining freshness also leads to pollution, aggravating the environmental problem. What is more, the transport cost will be a part of the food price, consumers have then to pay more in return of foreign food. All things considered, it can be now concluded that long-distance food travels take place due to globalization and advanced technology. Positive effects include a wider choice of food, lower cost because of large scale production along with reduction in wars and conflicts resulted from mutual-dependency. Negative effects involve environmental pollution and high food price. Overall, food journey is double-edged since there are both advantages and disadvantages.