Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree.

A large number of the population affirms that social media in our world today has posed a huge threat to the human community. However, I believe that the advantages of using these platforms outweigh their disadvantages. Firstly, It has made teaching more effective with the use of keywords oriented searches on a robust system. Intelligence made readily available on these websites has made research easier and cost-effective compared to the traditional means that was used some decades ago. Libraries, book stores and reading centres were the usual go-to for researchers and university final year students who were working on projects but that isn't the case anymore. They have also helped foster learning among primary and secondary school wards to improve overall academic performance through the unrestricted access to a lot of varying content on the web. These networks have allowed for easier dissemination of information from Authorities and Media Partners. It has breached the gap flow of information in a much more effective way than television and radio. For instance, these web and mobile applications became a relevant and the fastest medium used during the COVID-19 pandemic lockdown to pass vital information from Health Personnel and Professionals to the grass root. To conclude, the benefit of these phone apps which is now used by many people of all ages in our society is enormous and cannot be overemphasized. It can be noted that a few measures could be useful to curb the misuse of these platforms, especially for minors.