Some think that governments should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, changing eating habits and physical activities have been encouraging all the world to have good health and live longer. However, most people often use unhealthy foods in their daily life because of their appetites and conveniences. In my opinion, I do agree that the officials should take an action to raise their market prices to limit this consumption. First of all, it is a fact that the consumption of unhealthy foods despite their bad consequences on health. Having sugar soft drinks regularly causes many diseases such as diabetes, obesity in children but people are seemly addicted to them. That results in a huge quantity of products related to soft drinks because of meeting the high demand. Some businesses only focus on their revenue, they are not concerned about the consumer’s health. Therefore, it is necessary to apply tax on these foods to reduce their consumption. For example, some countries like the USA, Mexico accomplish soft drink tax and gain a significant reduction in recent years. Moreover, thanks to tax on unhealthy foods, the healthcare systems are provided with financial resources. Although people have to pay a high price and are knowledgeable of harm, they still purchase. For instance, it is hard to decrease the usage of cigarettes, smoking affects to next generation who do not have health -conscious while cigarettes are more widely available. Hence, tax contributes to the development of hospitals, health centres, researches to resolve the consequences that unhealthy food created. In conclusion, a tax on unhealthy food is an effective measure to ensure human life. It is predicted that societies should be highly aware of changing eating habits that strengthen the bodies and brains.