In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages?

It is becoming common nowadays for students to be allowed to take a long break before moving into college in certain countries. While there are many benefits to it, there are also some drawbacks to consider. In this essay, we will investigate both the positive and negative aspects of it. Teenagers are always on the look for excitement in their life, which they think is more important than education. Upon completion of high school, it gives a relief that they have accomplished something major and start on the lookout for fun. However, this situation can go wrong in many ways. Firstly, on the journey of finding joy, they will need to ensure that they are adequately equipped with cash, which they might start earning as soon as they get a job. Secondly, most of the jobs that they get does not really promise high pay and it might require them to work extra hours to earn more. Finally, they might wander out looking for opportunities which might be bad for society. For instance, someone might lure them into drug peddling promising a huge payout. On the other hand, work or life experience is something that is not always being covered in the syllabus. Youngsters tend to learn more when they face the reality of any situation. Normally, not many of them know how hard their parents work to put food on the table. By getting a chance to experience the outside world by travelling or working, it will provide more sense in them on how difficult life can be and make them responsible towards it. Furthermore, they will also learn to be more independent and armed with enough street-smart skills to be ready for the ever-challenging working environment. Nevertheless, it will be a venue where they learn how to effectively communicate and build great relationships. In summary, having the students to go on vacation or work for a short period will definitely bring good outcomes as they will learn to be independent and face challenges courageously, but it needs to be in a controlled manner as it will be disastrous if the wrong path is chosen, which might not give a second chance to them again.