Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

When we say sports, one of the most common requirements that come to our mind is strength. One set of people claim that physical strength is an important factor for success in sport, whereas, others believe that it is mental strength that is essential. In this,essay we will discuss, both these views in detail and I will give my opinion. Firstly, when we talk about outdoor sports, physical strength plays a very pioneer role. Most outdoor sports, including, hockey, football, running, table tennis etc. involves a lot of exertion, as the body keeps constantly moving. Say for example, in football, the player has to keep running and chasing the ball, therefore, the player is expected to have that much stamina and strength. It is very important for players playing outdoor sports to maintain a good physique. On the contrary, mental strength is required in all kinds of sports be it indoor or outdoor. For indoor sports like chess or carrom, a huge amount of focus and concentration is needed and the brain is expected to run efficiently and quickly for playing the right moves and shots. Moreover, even for outdoor games, focus is must, as,without focus and an active mind, a player will not be able to act in the way he is supposed to act. For instance, if a cricket player is physically fit, but is not able to put his mind in the game, he will not be able to hit the ball, due to the lack of concentration. To conclude, though players should have the good physical strength for success in outdoor sports, yet, mental ability is a prerequisite for the players playing any kind of sports and the necessity of mental strength outweighs physical strength.