smacking children is the best form of discipline. to what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that parents should hit their children in order to have an effective nurturing process. I completely disagree with this statement and believe that this kind of upbringing could have two major drawbacks that would be mentioned in this essay. Firstly, smacking children or any other kinds of harsh punishments are considered destructive, due to their impacts on child's health. In other words, intense punishing could lead to physical and even mental disorders. A clear example of this phenomenon can be seen in social media. There is news about infants being tortured with the excuse of instruction. In these kinds of news, the physical damage is apparent. However, the major problem is laid in the subsequent effects on the children's minds. These kids would in turn confront significant mental issues namely depression, low self-confidence and even acute psychological problems. This way, in addition to their present sufferings, their prospects are also influenced by the method they are treated. As well as health-related disorders, this method is known to be a defeated one. There is significant evidence, which reveals that improper punishments not only convince offspring to obey their parents, but also encourage them to repeat the forbidden action but in secret. The results of a recent study on this type of nurturing showed that in 70% of cases, they did the same action they were punished for. Moreover, this research illustrated that the aim of repeating their bad habits was just to revenge their punisher. That is why smacking not only does not work but also accentuates the problem. In conclusion, although hitting is said to be beneficial in some families, it has adverse impacts on both well-being and manner of offspring. In my opinion, this way of upbringing is inefficient and destructive and the ones who act their kids this way should be treated as criminals.