Nowadays, People Of All Ages From Certain Parts Of The World Spend Most Of The Time At Home Rather Than Going Outdoors | Band 7 IELTS Essay Sample

Despite the ease of movement due to industrialization, more and more people, of all age groups are spending most of their time indoors rather than outdoors. The possibility of connecting with loved ones online and shopping through e-commerce are some of the major reasons for this behaviour change and the downsides of this development outweigh its few benefits. We all know, with the development of technology, people are now able to connect with their family and friends, anytime from anywhere. Earlier people used to step out of their houses to meet their loved ones once in a while, however, now since it has become simpler to connect over a phone call, people prefer doing that. Though this advancement is making communication faster and people more socially active, at the same time, it makes them physically inactive. This development has caused many health issues and depression amongst young people. For instance, in the last,decade the cases of depression and suicide recorded around the world have increased substantially. Furthermore, the growth of e-commerce, makes shopping more convenient than ever before. Now a person can order almost everything online sitting on his couch at home, ranging from a needle to a wardrobe. This new mode of shopping saves considerable time and effort and such time can be spent at home to relax or watch a movie with the family. Before the trend of e-commerce, people used to step out for shopping groceries and other essentials, but now they choose to do it online. For example, in the last few years, the rush at departmental stores in India has reduced by 20%, leading to smaller queues and quick shopping. To conclude, while shopping online and communicating over a device helps people to spend more time at home with their family, it also increases the risk of detecting physical and mental diseases at a very young age.