People nowadays tend to have children at older ages. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There are growing numbers of men and women choosing to have children later in life these days. In my opinion, the financial advantages of this trend far outweigh any perceived downsides. The most significant tradeoffs of this relate to opportunity and maturity. Many individuals decide early on in their career to wait until their mid to late 30s to have children. The natural risk here is that if the relationship ends before that point or they then have trouble conceiving, they may end up childless. This possibility is lower today due to advances in fertility science but still exists. Furthermore, having children is a maturing experience. If an individual waits until late in life to raise a child, then they delay the experience gained and may later regret their decision. Most parents would openly admit that parenthood is a life-altering milestone and defining moment of adulthood. Nonetheless, the disadvantages detailed above pale in comparison to the economic merits of delaying childbirth. Firstly, most young parents are not in an ideal situation in their careers. Many working parents earn low salaries and work long hours. Once they have a child that means the majority of their day is occupied and they may feel trapped and overburdened. It is then difficult to switch careers or move to a new location as well as afford all the expenses incumbent on parents. This often results in parents becoming resentful and projecting their animosity towards their children or significant other. In contrast, parents who are firmly established in their careers, earn decent salaries and have savings set aside have both the time and energy to devote to raising their children well without having to stress about making ends meet. In conclusion, despite marginal risks concerning the opportunity and experience, it is an overall positive for financial reasons that many prospective parents are putting off childbirth. Therefore, this trend should be welcomed and encouraged.