Nowadays parents put too much of pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

Most parents today make their children work immensely hard and put a huge amount of strain on them for achieving a successful career. I believe the growing competition in enrolling their kids to reputed colleges is the primary reason behind this, and this is a negative development because it hampers the overall growth of adolescence. Many colleges and universities these days require applicants to be excellent in academics and other interpersonal skills. They no longer are only satisfied with good marks in schools and this makes parents impose high pressure on children to outperform their fellow peers in every department in order to secure their desirable slot in colleges. As a result, kids are made to learn in schools, followed by revisions at home and they are compelled to play some sports. For example, many children in India have policies by their parents to not go to sleep till they do not secure first place in the sport they are playing. This phenomenon certainly has ramifications especially in the growth of the children. Not all kids have the stamina and sustainability to go through the tough routine as asked by their parents and this lead several youngsters to become victims of hypertension and depression. For example, most cases of mental illnesses in Asia are seen in children as they follow tiring processes regularly. Thus, rather than making them work for all long, day it is important to make them focus only on learnings they wish to possess. In conclusion, there should be a limit for stretching a child’s ability as taking it too far can cause serious mental issues and parents should allow their kids to learn subjects of their choice to make learning an enjoyable experience.