Some people think that economic progress is the only way to measure a country's success, while others that think that there are other factors which can be used to measure a country's success. What are these factors? Which, of all factors, do you think are most important?

It is often argued by some that capital accumulation is the only important factor to defined a country as successful, while others claim that low education and increased hunger in the population, as well as a proper income distribution should be taken into consideration to evaluate the prosperity of a nation. The paragraphs below will expose these points and explain which one of them is the most important. To begin with, although, a high Gross Domestic Product is useful to define a country as rich due to the increased amount of money collected with the goods sold and services provided, this data can lead to misinterpretation due to the incomplete information carried; thus, others factors should be analysed as well. For instance, despite being an economically privileged country, most part of the Brazilian population is miserable and face hunger daily as a result of the poor income distribution. Moreover, using the same land as an example, by having a substantial illiteracy rate, unemployment has reached values as never before. Be that as it way, in my opinion, amid the points described above, the most important one is the education rate. To illustrate, through the development of a critical sense and inciting creative minds in the community, more ideas are given and, thereby, more solutions to internal political, market and health setbacks would be displayed, which would improve the nation's weaknesses and could lead to economic progress as a consequence, in the long-term. Hence, investing in schooling is wiser to mitigate problems and to reach success in the future. To conclude, measuring a nation's prosperity by its economy is, to say the least, vague as it does not portray the population's situation. Therefore, other data as income distribution, poverty and education should be analysed to give a complete perspective. Also, the literacy rate is more trustworthy to evaluate success.