One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantage of this development outweighs the disadvantages?

In this day and age, thanks to the advancement of healthcare services and medical, numerous nations are revealing an increasingly aged population. From my perspective, although this trend has some beneficial aspects, the drawbacks that it triggers eclipse its advantages. On the one hand, it is impossible to deny that longer life expectancy benefits people’s lives. The most significant advantage is that it allows citizens to enjoy themselves and stay with their beloved ones for a longer period of time. For example, after retiring, an elderly can start doing what he has been interested in but did not have a chance to do when he was at work, which makes a huge contribution to his satisfaction in life. As a result, more people will have the opportunity to achieve their lifelong goals and become happier with their lives. On the other hand, I am more convinced that having an older population has more negative impacts on society. The primary reason is the increasing population when the average life expectancy grows. This leads to overcrowded cities and residential areas, resulting in a shortage of accommodation, which is a nuisance to citizens. Additionally, this also exacerbates pollution, which is a serious issue in several countries, as more emissions and trash are released from activities that are essential to senior people such as healthcare services. Not only does this affect communal life negatively, but it also threatens the existence of the flora and fauna, as well as all creatures on Earth, since the consequences from pollution are extremely severe. In conclusion, it is true that the fact that people can lengthen their lives is beneficial to individuals. Nonetheless, I believe that the disadvantageous impacts that this trend has on our community surpass its advantageous side.