In the past, most working people had only one job. However, nowadays, more and more people have more than one job at the same time. What are the reasons for this development? What are the advantages and disadvantages of having more than one job?

Nowadays, an increasing amount of people tend to have multiple jobs at the same time while in the past, the majority of people only have one job. In this essay, I will explain the reason behind this phenomenon as well as the pros and cons of having multiple jobs. Firstly, the wide acceptance of the internet and working online makes the change possible. In the old days, people have to work in a certain physical location, such as a factory or a building. That means you cannot be in two places at one time which makes having multiple jobs impossible. However, as the internet and technology advance, people can work online easily. For example, a company employee can also work as a copywriter by meeting up with his/her clients and co-workers online via Zoom or Skype. With the freedom given by the internet, taking multiple career roles is not necessarily a good option for everyone. For some people, having multiple jobs means more ways of income which is a financial buffer when the economy is not too thriving. Yet, for other people, having multiple responsibilities could be exhausting. For instance, a company employee/YouTuber has to make videos in his/her spare time after 8 hours of office work, which could cause troubles for work -life balance. In conclusion, due to the internet and technology, people nowadays have the freedom to work online, so they can have multiple jobs at the same time. In that way, people can benefit from the varied sources of income but have to trade off their leisure time to get more work done.