Discuss the importance of art education in schools. How does exposure to art impact students’ creativity and overall development?

Art is an essential part of our society. It plays a crucial role and defines us as a human being. In my opinion, it is important to be aware of the cultural heritage that art passes down through generations. Moreover, learning art is beneficial in developing various skills such as creativity and growing overall development. School is the best to take the first steps in learning art. Firstly, learning art is an important stage of children ’s development. Art in many forms is hands-on. Kids acquire various skills by studying art. There are a lot of physical motions involved in a creative process that develop motor skills. For example, holding a paintbrush or colored pencils boosts motor skills significantly when it comes to painting. Through painting and other forms of art children enhance their creativity. As more free-minded kids are more inclined to search for new ideas and concepts and think out of the box that raises their originality. Secondly, some soft skills develop through studying art. In the process of making children face situations that require looking for a solution that leads to boosting problem-solving skills. Additionally, while painting kids can ask themselves “What colour should I paint this house?” or “How will the picture look like if put the Sun in the upper right corner?”. This type of question enhances decision-making skills. Furthermore, learning art leads to cultural awareness. Children discover cultural heritage, values of past generations and modern society. In conclusion, studying art in schools has many positive sides. It develops hands-on abilities such as motor skills and increases the general level of creativity. Also, art is beneficial for acquiring problem-solving and critical thinking. Children have great overall development as a result.