In most countries, the number of plant and animal species is declining. What is causing this? What can we do to correct the situation?

In many parts of the world, the populations of many fauna and flora species are shrinking at an alarming rate. This essay will get to the roots of the problem and propose some feasible measures to address it. The declining number of many living creatures can be attributable to several culprits. The first one is due to humans’ destructive activities for their own sake. In fact, as a consequence of the population explosion, human demands are inevitably increasing, which means that they have to exploit the natural resources through logging trees for wood or fuels as well as hunting numerous animal species for food, clothes or medicine. This can be exemplified by the case of some endangered species such as elephants and rhinos since they are poached for tusks and horns, which are misinterpreted as miraculous treatments for serious diseases. Besides the devastating effects caused by human beings, the extinction of some plants and animals can result from natural factors namely fire or flooding. These disastrous phenomena indeed lead to the mass extinction of wildlife species. However, in order to reverse the situation, there are many viable solutions that can be taken by the government and related bodies. First of all, it is imperative that governments should enact more stringent punishments which would act as deterrents against illegal loggers and poachers. By doing so, natural resources can be well protected from overexploitation. Furthermore, policymakers should also propose some schemes to harness and regenerate natural sources more effectively. Secondly, although preventing natural disasters may be a daunting task, their negative implications can be alleviated through individual actions in an attempt to protect the environment, thus reducing global warming and climate change which are the main causes of extreme weather patterns. More importantly, threatened or vulnerable plant and animal species should be preserved in national parks. In conclusion, human activities and natural phenomena can be major factors leading to the decline in the number of flora and fauna types. Nevertheless, this issue can be tackled by some concerted efforts between governmental bodies and individual citizens. In addition, it is undeniable that saving other species from the threat of extinction plays a vital role in maintaining the ecosystem balance and gaining sustainable development in the long run.