The growing number of overweight people is pulling a strain on the health care system, in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays obesity has become a major health issue in society, and it has impacted the healthcare system due to a large number of overweight people. Some individuals believe that, in order to tackle this issue, school education should introduce physical activities. I strongly believe this idea to a great extent and will explain why I think it is a better way to handle the problem. To begin with, it is incontrovertible that nowadays people are lacking habits to be involved in physical activities. If physical education includes as a compulsory subject in the school curriculum, then children involve in these activities at a young age, which would help to make it a habit when they become adults. For instance, it is intuitively obvious that when a child follows a habit from a younger age, he/she tends to continue the same in adult life. Since children learn to do exercises, yogas during school time, this would continue as a habit in their lives which would help to reduce obesity-related health problems. Furthermore, children who do exercise regularly, would become a better example to society. While children are doing physical activities every day as a habit, people who are around them would motivate to do the same. For example, many researches have proved that, if a person sees something daily, it enables him/her to follow the same whereas if an adult sees youngsters keep doing exercises every day, it motivates him/her to try it out as well. Therefore, teaching these good lessons in schools would benefit not only for children, but for people who are around them. In summary, people suffer many health-related issues due to overweight problems, and it leads to breaking the healthcare system. Many argue that in order to ameliorate this problem, physical education such as exercise, yoga should be included in the school syllabus. I strongly believe this idea as it would give benefits not only to children but to society as well.