It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Being literate is one of the most crucial indicators of high intelligence, thus all parents are inclined to teach their offspring how to read at a relatively young age. However, it appears to many people that children often do so with reluctance or only under parental coersion version. From my perspective, this can be attributed to the lack of interest in books in general and the solutions to which will also be presented in the following essay. The reasons why most toddlers find reading unappealing are discernible. Firstly, books are generally lacklustre compared to other means of recreation such as animated cartoons or video games. Regardless of how colourful a comic book might be, it can hardly compete with the vividly illustrated characters that a video game promises to offer. Additionally, these sophisticated software also provide a wide range of sensory stimuli through colors, sounds, and tactile interaction, which will certainly be more enticing as opposed to just a plainly tinted piece of paper. Even if the visual appeal of a comic book can rival that of a computer game, sitting through a book requires much more energy and focus than an Ipad would do. Given that even many teens shy away from books, reading is surely not an entertaining activity for children to engage in. Notwithstanding the aforementioned reasons, the benefits that one can derive from simply perusing a short passage are so great that authoriies authorizes and families must introduce these measures for children to read. As for schools and regional authorites, arranging book fairs and constructing communal libraries are helpful ways for children to familiarize themselves with books and viewing these as a regular way to unwind as opposed to a school assignment. Moreover, it is advisable that educators incorporate reading into the official curricula by requiring students to go through at least one of their favorite stories. Regarding pupils' time at home, parents may set a pattern by limiting their screen time and surrounding their children with books to establish healthy habits. Numerous things can be done in order for children can develop a favourable attitude towards reading. In conclusion, the downside of books is that they are tedious compared to many other educational tools available in the present, therefore, many toddlers find it hard to gravitate towards these medium. Nonetheless, both families and authoritive bodies can improve the situation by getting these children used to books.