Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for the government to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste.

Most people believe that recycling wastes from households are not enough. They often say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. I think rules and regulations are needed to mandate people to recycle more of their wastes which is good for the environment. Disposal of recyclable wastes will be drastically reduced when there are laws prohibiting people from indiscriminate dumping of wastes. It has become evidently clear that society tends to be environmentally friendly and clean when laws concerning waste management are enacted. However, this will motivate citizens to engage in recycling. For instance, in 2019, Rwanda Parliament passes a bill compelling its citizens to recycle plastic bottles and today Rwanda is among the cleanest nation in the world. Moreover, the rate of recycling had increased significantly since these laws were passed. Furthermore, laws are needed to curtail waste disposing, while encouraging recycling to prevent flooding and soil contamination. Over the years the rate of flooding has been increasing all over the world because most of the wastes are dumb into the drainage system, this situation has lead to the blockage of water canals and gutters in the street. However, wastes especially plastic bottles take years to be degraded, and thus contaminates the soil in these areas. For example, a journal in 2009, reveals that most of the floodings in Germany are caused by dumbing of plastic containers in drainages. In a nutshell, if recyclable wastes are not removed from the environment can cause man-made disaster. In conclusion, laws should be enacted to encouraging recycling, in other to keep our surroundings clean and to prevent water destruction.