Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over thousands of,years people used their leisure time in different ways. These days, however, there are two views on how one should use their leisure time either to relax or do a mental stimulation activity. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives and give my view, which is that both aspects have their benefits. Many believe that individuals should do cognitively stimulating activities during their leisure time because these kinds of activities send synapses or connecters to the brain which in the long run can ward off dementia. This theory has been backed up by scientist which has confirmed that keeping one's brain active is a good thing, by playing games or doing sudoku, crosswords, puzzles or high-tech activities on apps and websites. There have been numerous theories that keeping one brain activity is a positive development. The other view, however, is that people should use their leisure time to relax. These days people are working longer hours than ever before and are eternally contactable, thanks to their mobile phone, so therefore it is important for people to be able to switch off. Some activities which are beneficial and can be seen as a mental rest are meditation or contemplation where your body and mind get time to switch off from the outside world. In a recent study regarding Buddist Monks, scientists notice that once they are in deep meditation their cells rejuvenate and it slows down the ageing progresses. Personally, I believe that both aspects have their advantages. If a person had a long stressful day at work and are exhausted, then it's a good idea to have mental rest. On the other hand, if one had a monotonous day then doing a stimulating activity such as sudoku or some crosswords can be beneficial for your brain. In conclusion, both aspects have their positive points. It is important that each individual choose which one would be beneficial for them to help to relax.