Many young children today leave school with a negative attitude towards learning. Why is this happening? What can be done to encourage young people to have a positive attitude towards learning?

It is commonplace for the young to acquire a negative outlook towards studying in school. In this essay, I will be discussing the possible reasons why it is the case and propose solutions for developing a more positive outlook before arriving at a conclusion. One major cause is because children tend to have shorter attention spans as compared to adults. They easily get bored especially when the lectures are long and too academic. For example, an 8-year-old primary school student is forced to listen to a 4-hour class about the history of his or her country. Because of this, the child loses focus and his or her brain wanders around. In addition, they are affected psychologically by the people in their surroundings. A good illustration is if a girl is bullied by her classmates, she will develop a tendency to not attend classes. Moreover, not only her attitude towards educational institutions will change but also her self-confidence will be damaged. There are numerous methods on how to change this kind of thinking. First, the curriculum should offer a wide range of methods that can not only instil new learnings but also promote camaraderie among school-goers. Teachers, for instance, can arrange interactive materials which aid in the lessons. Consequently, the excitement of children would be higher as compared to listening to usual hour-long talks. Another way is to provide proper guidance to all in order to promote harmony. Lecturers are regarded as second parents and are therefore expected to instil proper values, which help shape the students to become better members of society. In conclusion, the younger generations tend to look at learning as disadvantageous. Primarily because of repetitive activities as well as bullying. However, there are numerous ways on how to change it such as offering interactive lessons and ensuring the promotion of harmonious relationships. These solutions, together with proper guidance, can administer a more positive acceptance of children towards learning in school.