Many people now undertake extreme activities, from hang-gliding to mountain climbing. Why do people risk their lives in this way, and do you think this is a good trend?

Nowadays, extreme outdoor sports are becoming remarkably popular. This essay will discuss the apparent reasons why most people are engaged in such activities and will also provide my personal opinion about the negative points associated with this trend. Many hazardous activities such as hang-gliding and mountain climbing appear to pull in many amateurs every year around the globe. Apparently, people feel attracted to this sort of sport because it triggers their nervous system, boosting their dopamine generation, which is often associated with a feeling of happiness and satisfaction. For example, during a hang-gliding flight, one is literally pushed into the emptiness of the sky. While it can be extremely frightening, on the other hand, it conveys an unprecedented sense of freedom and enthusiasm. On top of that, near-death experiences are scientifically more likely to generate adrenaline than any other everyday situation, causing people to respond with a more energetic and satisfactory attitude. As a matter of fact, when climbers finally reach the top of the mountain, they get to be paid off for all the risks and the efforts taken during the escalation. For these reasons, people might feel prompt to challenge themselves into these risky activities. In my view, however, this represents a dangerous trend, especially when someone approaches these sports for the very first time. People should be wary about the protocols and the safety equipment needed to undertake such activities and should always be accompanied by highly-trained experts not to cause any accidents. Moreover, people should be aware of the unnecessary risks they are running only to pursue enjoyment and excitement; otherwise, they would become reckless and irresponsible. In conclusion, many people enjoy undertaking extreme sportive experiences, namely hang-gliding and mountain climbing. Humans often place themselves in various hazardous situations because it adds spice to their lives and fills them with a hormonal cascade of irreplaceable emotions. It is unacceptable to put one's life at stake simply for the sake of temporary feelings of joyfulness and amusement.