Some people think that sports involving violence such as boxing and martial arts should be banned from TV as well as from international sports competition. what is your opinion?

There is an ongoing debate whether violent sports should be banned from the mass media as well as from the international sports competition such as Olympics. I think there would be some advantages by banning the violent sports, but the drawbacks of banning the sports eclipse the benefits. On the one hand, banning violent sports like mixed martial arts affects people positively. To be specific, especially young people are easy to get influenced by mass media, so if mass media broadcasts the violent sports it will give strong impressions and play a significant role in forming wrong behaviours and attitudes to the youth by watching it. Therefore, prohibiting these sports will have positive impacts on society to be maintained securely. On the other hand, prohibiting watching the violent sports is absurd. Firstly, there are a bunch of people who are really into these sports. These fans release their stresses and enjoy their private time by wathcing the games. As well as that, even though the public have had violence instinct from primitives, they used to satisfy their violence instinct by watching the games, not commiting any violence. Take Rome empire as an example, gladiator played a vital role in satisfying crowds' needs by showing the performances. In this respect, banning the sports disturbs people's freedom and preferences, so it would lead to some illegal actions if there is not any alternative. In conclusion, although prohibiting broadcasting and holding violent sports matches can contribute to society positvely, demerits of banning the sports seem to surpass of the benefits.