The tendency for news reports in the media to focus on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to the individual and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, people more than ever are exposed to huge amounts of negative news by the press. In my opinion, it has detrimental effects on societies in many ways. There are several reasons why bad news has an influence on the prosperity of a country. Initially, when people are exposed to emergencies and disaster news, they will be more prone to lose their patients,and therefore, they will more deviate to do some anti-social activities like breaking the rules etc. Furthermore, if people could not focus on their job due to disturbing news, they will lose their performance significantly. For instance, there are a lot of companies that have forbidden their employees to discuss negative matters. Another reason that comes to mind is that bad news mainly related to the other countries not only have detrimental mental effects on individuals but also cause some psychological disorders to the public. For example, when someone is bombarded with disappointing reports he will initially depress, but gradually his depression will convert to more serious disorders, and therefore, the whole society will be saturated by those diseases. For example, in North Korea most people are suffering from depression, if the government had spent more time to provide more positive reports to them, this country would have fewer depressed individuals in comparison with its neighbour, South Korea. In conclusion, although some countries are publishing intentionally bad news to warn their people, I believe such harmful reports have bad consequences in the long term for them.