Some people believe that modern designs for schools and offices with more open spaces are necessary. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such spaces? Give your opinion.

Some educational institutions across the globe are moving towards open-plan learning environments as opposed to confined classrooms. This essay will examine the benefits and drawbacks of this modern innovation, and explain the reasons behind my belief that this change is unnecessary. Those who advocate for the necessity of spacious and open learning spaces would argue that it would create a casual environment where pupils and teachers can be free and expressive. They are not confined to a limited space within four walls, instead, they are together in a larger hall with the pupils and staff from the whole school. This in turn will create a sense of belonging and community. Moreover, it is likely to improve the behaviour of students as they would be aware of the presence of multiple staff members being present. As a result of this, students and teachers are more likely to achieve their learning objectives. However, I believe this open space design can itself be a problem as it eliminates professionalism and can eventually lead to being too casual. On the other hand, I believe traditional classrooms with one set of students and a teacher hold a value that is essential for building student-teacher bonding and personalised learning. Maintaining a long-term supportive relationship with a regular teacher and a group of peers is crucial for building social skills as well as education. For instance, working with a tutor and classmates from learning basic algebra to solving complex equations adds value and meaningful experiences to learning as students and staff will work together as a small group to solve problems. In conclusion, regardless of the casual learning environment that an open-space environment brings, I am fully convinced that traditional classrooms are ideal for professional learning and for creating a good bond between peers and teachers.