When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

When we meet anyone for the first time, we generally often form quick judgments about their character whether the person likes them or not. This phenomenon has both positive and negative implications, influencing our social interactions in various ways. It is a common idea that the first impression is the most important thing in a friendship or any relationship. Based on this, people tend to choose if they will keep in touch with someone on the first day. I firmly believe this kind of behaviour is not beneficial for any human being. This essay will address my thoughts on this topic and rationales. Firstly, a person can misjudge someone and lose an opportunity to become great friends quickly. It is clear that not everyone feels comfortable showing their real personality when they just met. Moreover, it’s natural to take time to be close to anyone and open up. For instance, I like to share an example of one study on social relationships in college that shows how much people get nervous when they meet anyone on the first orientation day. The majority of students stated that they could not be sociable as much as they usually are, that’s why you should not pick any person who wants to be a friend only based on the first -time impression of them. If anybody has an open mind for everyone, he will get more chances to meet amazing people. Secondly, this tendency can give a bad reputation to anyone. If any person makes assumptions too quickly about anyone and decides the people with whom the individual wants to hang out, people will think the person is a very judgemental individual. This can make it way harder to become friends with somebody later. For instance, humans usually agree that it is difficult to be friendly toward somebody who chose a friend group too soon in the early semester because they feel that these human beings unfairly treat any other person. It is positive for an individual to take time to get to know about him. Furthermore, I want to conclude that the initial impression is not as imperative as people think. If anyone is willing to wait a bit more, the individual has more opportunities to meet good people and protect their reputation too.