Happiness if often considered difficult to define. Why is this? What factors determine happiness?

Everyone in the world wants to be happy, but it is unfortunate to know that there is no one particular definition to define it, because of a lack of measuring tools. This essay will try to explain why it is considered so, and also demonstrate the factor determining it. There is no universal definition for happiness, and one cannot measure it. It is unbelievable that in this scientific world, we do not have an objective tool to part it, and often it remains subjective. Every disease in this current world can be measured objectively and the severity can be graded. However, not being happy is not considered as suffering, and hence there are no scales to measure it. Happiness is determined by multiple factors. Money is considered to play a crucial role in it. In this modern society people are judged based on their financial status, and, in addition, it also decides whose to be respected. For example, if an individual earns less currency, even though they are in a respectable profession, such as doctors or engineers community does not pay enough respect they deserve. But, on the counterpart, if a person has plenty of money, even though he or she is a criminal, the community pay humongous respect. Hence, a lack of respect and recognition makes an individual sad. Similarly, it also depends on the peer groups and the family members. Groups that have a positive attitude generally, boost confidence and also helps an individual to remain happy. Furthermore, good family dynamics are also essential. For example, it is seen that friends with negative behaviour and a family which does not support a person, pushes a person to become depressed, which may increase suicidal tendencies. Thus, surroundings play an important role. In conclusion, the lack of appropriate methods to measure happiness makes it difficult to define, and many factors play an important role to determine it, such as financial stays, peer groups and family members.