As the workplace evolves, some people suggest that schools should only teach practical skills, while others believe that academic knowledge should be taught as well. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

For the last few years, working conditions have changed. The vast majority of people believe that students should be taught practical skills in school. However, there are still some people who are convinced that theory is important for the educational process. This essay agrees with such a viewpoint partially and firstly it will show an importance of practical skills for students, but at same time I have to object that practical skills are extremely based on theory. There is an opinion that pupils should not waste time on theory and move straight to practice. The majority of students after graduation have different theoretical skills such as algebra, literature and languages. However, they lack skills for repairing cars, changing homes or cooking meals. Many skills taught in schools are not useful for life and could eventually fade from memory. Albeit practical skills will be fresh and stay in mind for a long time. Nevertheless, there are some people who tend to believe that practical skills are less important and could be taught at home. For instance, it is possible to learn how to cook meals or repair cars and do not require special preparation. In addition, almost all practical skills are based on theory and it is impossible to repair cars if there is no knowledge about them. To conclude, practical skills are important for learners but should not be distinguished from school goals and theory also must be taught as well, because without it students could be not well prepared and self-developed for forthcoming challenges.