Influence of human beings on the world’s ecosystem is leading to the extinction of many species and loss of biodiversity. What are the primary causes of loss of biodiversity? What solutions can you suggest to protect endangered species and biodiversity?

The impact of human beings is causing disruption of wildlife ecosystem and extinction of many species. The main reason for this is air and water pollution caused by human interference. Therefore, creating conservation parks to prevent any kind of human intervention would be a viable solution. Increased human population creates greater demand for natural resources causing various habitats to deteriorate and be destroyed. For instance, forests are cleared to make room for more houses and buildings, rivers shared by wildlife and cities are mixed with toxic waste from factories and air is polluted by release from manufacturing plants. In addition to the wildlife on land, humankind greatly affects marine wildlife in various ways including the disposal of waste into the oceans and fishing excessively to critical extents. This is further worsened by oil spills which cover the surface of the ocean and prevent underwater life to breathe. Protection of wildlife ecosystem is possible by creating conservation parks and sanctuaries on land and marine reserves on the sea. To prevent any kind of human intervention, these places should be built to follow a strict regimen such as waste treatment to protect oceans and rivers from toxic discharges. Controlled fishing should be practised to avoid the extinction of threatened species as well. Additionally, a task force should be created to understand endangered species and their interaction with the ecosystem to protect them from getting extinct. To conclude, the existence of wild animals are in grave danger due to humanity but it can be alleviated by creating ocean and forest reserves completely disconnected from civilisation.