Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling Is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Nowadays, countries are contributing to combating different kinds of pollution, and one of which that is the most direct to people's daily life is the domestic garbage issue. In order to reduce the amount of garbage, some people say authorities must enact laws to mandate citizens to do recycling. In my opinion, I totally agree with this idea and think that humans are inherently lazy to do so and are aloof from environmental issues. First of all, it is essential to introduce compulsory rules to cut household waste because individuals fare lazy to proactively do such a thing. For example, before relative rules were formed, the Taiwanese created plenty of garbage every day. They threw everything, some were already defined as recyclable materials at that time, into rubbish trucks. It was not until the government started to resort to laws to fine those who did not do recycling that the total annual amount of refuse declined. Another reason why only governments can increase recycling is that people less care about environmental issues. For instance, in the recent survey, conducted by WHO (World Health Organization), in accordance with atmospheric pollution, more than half of the respondents had no cognition that approximately one-fifth of air pollution came from local refuse destructor plants. Such a percentage is enough to accelerate global warming; thus, WHO advocates authorities to draft laws to first deal with their domestic garbage problems. In conclusion, as the natural environment is deteriorating along with citizens laziness and indifference, from my point of view it is necessary for governments to make laws to constraint domestic waste.