Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

In the modern world, concern with the environment and one's own health is each time more often, but surprisingly cycling is getting less popular. This essay will present some reasons and solutions to deal with this question. One of the main reasons is related to security issues. In large cities, bikers share the space on the roads with cars, buses, and motorbikes. A single accident, for example, can be fatal for cyclists, but not for car drivers. As a result, people are afraid to use bicycles in the streets. Another important reason is the distance from housing areas to the workplace. In middle-size and big cities, people usually live in the suburbs, generally far from work, and cycling is not proper for long distances. Sometimes, people need to have a shower and change their clothes due to exercise done on bicycles and the building where they work is not prepared for it. To encourage people to use more this type of transport, local governments should build lanes dedicated to cycling on the roads and improve signs to protect those who choose this sort of locomotion. This measure could attract more people to use bikes and take care of their health at the same time. Another solution for this issue is creating bicycle parking lots and shops for renting bikes next to the underground and bus stations. This action can allow people to use bicycles combined with other forms of transport for long distances, such as the metro or buses. To sum up, there are several aspects to be considered in public transportation to improve healthier and more environmentally friendly kinds of transport. Better city planning and roads dedicated to cycling can change this trend and contribute to the balance of the planet and improve the health of people.