Nowadays online shopping is extremely popular. Discuss the impact of it in the environment and on people who lost their jobs because of it.

The idea of getting things by a mouse click has revolutionised the shoppers' world. Online shopping is considered to be eco-friendly in most aspects although it poses a threat of unemployment to the public. The forthcoming essay will discuss its effects on the nature and employment loss created due to it. To begin with, online shopping helps reduce carbon emissions to the environment. This is because the item deliveries to various places and customers are done in a single-vehicle, thus reducing the fuel consumption and transportation needs. In contrast, if all families go out shopping in their sedans, how much more will be,its disastrous effect on environmental pollution. Additionally, energy consumption by the sellers is less on online platforms. Displaying lights and the cooling systems of the shops consume larger energy which is necessary for promoting the product. In digital shopping, customers look more into features like delivery timings, return policy,discounts etc. Having said these benefits, there are some detrimental effects of this technological spree on the lives of certain people. Shopkeepers will lose their buyers and salesman cannot find enough jobs when the mob turns more into the online world. Retail shops suffer because they cannot sell goods at a lesser price margin. Restaurants close down because food is available at your comfort in the office or at home through different food apps. To conclude, today's tech-savvy generation is more into online purchasing sites which proves beneficial to the earth in many ways. However,the one drawback of this trend to the economy is the lesser employment rate in society. I believe the government of each nation should set forth plans to reinstate the unemployed and promote more ecologically balanced approaches.